Concerts, Events and Celebrations

Spring Performance sets High Standards

Congratulations to the talented musicians of the Philharmonic and Symphony Orchestras for an outstanding April 17th concert!  The level of musicianship was amazing! We would also like to thank our seniors for their dedication and leadership during their time in the OYSA.  You will be missed!

Brynn Neilson - Blue Valley Northwest, Sarah Martin - Olathe South, Nathan Helgesen - Olathe South, Victoria Jones - Gardner-Edgerton, Lawrence Mason - Olathe North, Carley Eschliman - Olathe South, Paige Johns - Gardner-Edgerton, Brooke Sullivan - Olathe South, Adeline Chang - Olathe North, Melody Holliday - Olathe South, Colter Stevenson - Olathe South, Lilly Bruington - Olathe South, Brandon Rathburn - Blue Valley Southwest, Christian Long - Olathe South, Connor Neil - Olathe Northwest, Margaret Hempleman - Shawnee Mission West, Ethan Martin - Spring Hill, Bailey Larkin - Olathe East, Rachel Porter - Olathe South, Heather Smith - Olathe Northwest


Dr. Banikowski Receives Honor Administrator Award


Dr. Alison Banikowski, Deputy Superintendent of the Olathe Public Schools and our very own Olathe Youth Symphony board president, recently received the Kansas Music Educators Association's Honor Administrator Award for the state of Kansas. This annual award recognizes those administrators who have demonstrated continued leadership in developing, improving, and supporting music education. OYS Musical Director, Randy Detrick writes, "There is not a single aspect of our district music program that Dr. Banikowski has not embraced and made better. She is without a doubt one of the finest administrators and advocates for music education I have every known."  Congratulations to Dr. Banikowski for this special honor.

Register NOW for the 2016-2017 Season!

Auditions are now complete for the 2016-2017 concert season.  If you would like inquire to see if positions are still available please e-mail us at